Other projects

XXIII logo



Paul Van Kemenade 'classic' quintet


Jeroen Van Vliet - piano,
Eric Van Der Westen - double bass,
Pieter Bast - drums,
Louk Boudesteijn - trombone,
Paul Van Kemenade - altosax.

The quintet 2.0 was founded in 1989 by Dutch altoist and composer Paul Van Kemenade (1957) and the band played hundreds of concerts in the Netherlands and abroad. The quintet played in this setting for almost 20 year together and recorded a dozen LP's and CD's. They combined their music with totally different musical disciplines and cultures and played with wind- and brassbands, popbands and symphonic orchestras. Van Kemenade has a longterm relationship with South African musicians Feya Faku, Louis Mhlanga, Sydney Mnisi and Sonti Mndebele. The quintet performed with artist such as David Murray, Kenny Wheeler, Zim Ngqwana, Philip Catherine, Pierre Blanchard, David Linx, les frères Guissé etc.

Nowadays the bandmembers have their international career but every once and a while the quintet comes together for special occasions to perform abroad. When they do, they enjoy each others musicianship and play mostly the leader's original compositions.

Van Kemenade received a Royal decoration in 2007 and in 1999 the Dutch 'Boy Edgar Prijs' which is the national ouevre award for jazzmusicians for their contribution in jazz. Van Kemenade's cd 'Close Enough' has been rewarded with 5 stars in the prestigious American magazine Downbeat. Van Vliet received the 'Boy Edgar Prijs' ouevre award in 2014.

The quintet 2.0 discography:
1990 Missacity
1994 Mo's Mood
1996 Just For The Occasion
1997 Live in Sweden
1999 Zvinoshamisa
2000 To Be Continued...
2001 A Night in Indonesia
2003 Fouta
2006 Mexi Cosy
2007 No Way Station

Press quotes:
'This ensemble is one of the best bands that the Dutch jazz has ever known'. Jazzenzo
'Grandiose, memorable, top level, generous, absolute classic in the Dutch jazz scene, freely, skilled, technically brilliant, glorious, tear jerking and imposing'. Jazznu
'With his Classic Quintet the alto saxophone virtuoso is a clear crowd favorite'. 3voon12
'The quintet in top form, authentic, timeless and one of the highlights of the Dutch jazz history decided in a memorable way the 25th edition of Stranger Than Paranoia'. Jazzenzo

Participation in festivals: 2018

SHARE WITH FRIENDS

Другие проекты

XXIII logo



Paul Van Kemenade 'classic' quintet



Paul van Kemenade – альт-саксофон
Jeroen van Vliet – рояль
Eric van der Westen – контрабас
Pieter Bast - барабаны
Louk Boudesteijn – тромбон

'Квинтет находится в превосходной форме. Аутентичный коллектив на все времена, один из лучших в истории голландского джаза'. Jazzenzo

Квинтет был создан в 1989 году голландским альт-саксофонистом и композитором Паулем Ван Кеменаде, и группа сыграла сотни концертов в Нидерландах и других странах. Квинтет играет в таком составе почти 20 лет, записано десятки пластинок. Они сочетают в своей музыке совершенно разные направления и культуры, играют с духовыми и брасс-оркестрами, поп-группами и симфоническими оркестрами. Квинтет выступал с такими артистами, как Дэвид Мюррей, Кенни Уилер, Зим Нгквана, Филип Катерин, Пьер Бланшар, Дэвид Линкс, сенегальским коллективом les frères Guissé и др. У Кеменаде есть опыт длительного сотрудничества с южноафриканскими музыкантами Фейа Факу, Луис Мхланга, Сидни Мниси и Сонти Мндебеле.

В настоящее время у каждого из музыкантов квинтета есть своя международная карьера, но играя в составе квинтета, они получают удовольствие от музыкального мастерства друг друга и исполняют оригинальные композиции своего лидера PAUL VAN KEMENADE.

'В своем классическом квинтете виртуоз альт-саксофона явно является любимцем публики'. 3voon12

PAUL VAN KEMENADE получил голландскую награду 'Boy Edgar Prijs', которая является национальной наградой для джазовых музыкантов за вклад в джазовое искусство, а в 2007 году – его наградили королевской премией «Royal decoration». Альбом Кеменаде 'Close Enough' (Достаточно близко) был оценен в 5 звезд престижным американским журналом «Downbeat».

Жерон Ван Влит также получил голландскую национальную награду 'Boy Edgar Prijs' для джазовых музыкантов за вклад в джазовое искусство в 2014 году.

Цитаты из прессы:
'Этот ансамбль – один из лучших коллективов голландского джаза всех времен'. Jazzenzo
'Грандиозная, запоминающаяся, благородная, абсолютная классика высочайшего уровня Нидерландской джазовой сцены, свободная, искусная, технически исключительная, восхитительная, душещипательная и впечатляющая'. Jazznu

Участие в фестивалях: 2018

ПОДЕЛИТЬСЯ С ДРУЗЬЯМИ: