Other projects

XXIII logo



Maurice Leenaars


Born March 8 1966 in Eindhoven, The Netherlands.

Only 7 years old, yet Maurice had the whish to become a professional flamenco guitarist. However, there was nobody who could help him understand the secrets of this art. His father taught him some Spanish melodies and harmonies, and sent him for lessons to an allround music teacher when he was 8 years old. At his turn, one year later his teacher sent him to the Eindhoven School of Music to continue his studies. Yet no flamenco, but indeed a preparing for Conservatory studies in classical music.

At the School of Music Maurice experienced that there was little understanding towards flamenco music. Besides, he was told not having been born into a flamenco family, so his chances to success were considered as almost none.

Maurice gave up, and began dedicating himself with his heart and soul to the classical repertoire. In 1989 he graduated from the Tilburg Conservatory of Music and Dance as one of the most excellent students.

In 1988, a hitch-hike to Spain forced a re-encounter with flamenco music. But still believing what was told him in his childhood, he began experimenting with flamenco techniques and interpretations in mainly contemporary and Latin-American repertoire.

During his year of graduation at the Conservatory, Maurice finally felt the urge to investigate the secrets of flamenco. He whished doing so as an autodidact, relying on the many years he had listened to that music since he was a little boy. At the same time he began composing his own flamenco themes.

After his graduation he thus had achieved some elementary skills and knowledge, and three weeks later he moved to Sevilla to stay an entire year (1989-1990). He played with anyone possible who considered himself a singer, gipsies as well as civilians. That period was and still is of great influence on his artistic and personal development.

Maurice’s most essential aspects are composing and improvising.

His solo-album EL CALOR (the heat) launched in 2010. It is his third album, and has been recorded in Tilburg, but also in Barcelona with the help from one of Paco de Lucia’s agents, Juan Estrada.

With Paul van Kemenade:

In 1992, we debuted at the Boulevard Theater Festival in Den Bosch in the Netherlands.

Paul has deep jazz roots, he is awarded many prizes, among others VPRO / Boy Edgar.

This is the most prestigious award on the Dutch jazz scene.

Dutch magazine Jazz Nu about us and my debut album Live at Paradox:

"Most guitarists, inspired by flamenco, mostly focus on the rhythmic aspects of this music. Rasage at ultrafast pace, the faster, the better. Maurice Leenaars is more delicate. His melody captures and he cares about the formation of the tone. (...) Music breathes, as long as its tension increases and decreases. However, the most important merit can be the inclusion of Paul van Kemenade in his music. This combination of violent alto saxophone with a passionate guitar produces heartbreaking emotional moments. "

Participation in festivals: 2017

SHARE WITH FRIENDS

Другие проекты



Морис Леенаарс



Родился в 1966 году в Эйндховене, Нидерланды.

Морису было всего 7 лет, а он уже хотел стать профессиональным гитаристом фламенко. Однако не было никого, кто бы мог ему помочь понять секреты этого искусства. Его отец научил его некоторым испанским мелодиям и гармониям и направил его брать уроки у преподавателя классической музыки, когда ему было 8 лет. В свою очередь его преподаватель направил его в Эйндховенскую школу музыки для продолжения занятий. Хотя и не фламенко, но действительно это была подготовка для занятий в консерватории классической музыкой.

В школе музыки Морис узнал по опыту, что музыку фламенко мало понимают. Кроме того, ему было сказано, что поскольку он не родился в семье фламенко, шансов на успех у него практически не было.

Морис отказался от этой идей и всем сердцем и душой посвятил себя классическому репертуару. В 1989 году он закончил консерваторию музыки и танца Тилбурга как один из наиболее превосходных учеников.

В 1988 году во время путешествия автостопом в Испанию он снова столкнулся с музыкой фламенко. Все еще веря в то, что ему говорили в детстве, он начал экспериментировать с техникой и интерпретациями фламенко в основном в современном и латиноамериканском репертуаре.

В течение года обучения в консерватории семья Мориса чувствовала его стремление к познанию секретов фламенко. Он хотел заниматься этим как самоучка, полагаясь на тот многолетний опыт, когда он в течение многих лет слушал эту музыку, будучи маленьким мальчиком. Одновременно он начал сочинять свои собственные темы в стиле фламенко.

После окончания консерватории он овладел некоторыми элементарными навыками и знаниями и через три недели переехал в Севилью и остался там на год (1989-1990). Он играл со всеми, кто считал себя певцом, с цыганами и простыми людьми. Этот период оказал и продолжает оказывать огромное влияние на его профессиональный и личностный рост.

Наиболее существенным в творчестве Мориса является сочинение и импровизация.

Его сольный альбом EL CALOR (Тепло) был выпущен в 2010. Это его третий альбом и он был записан в Тилбурге, а также в Барселоне с помощью одного из агентов Paco de Lucia (Пако де Лусия), Хуана Эстрада (Juan Estrada).

С Паулем ван Кеменаде:

В 1992 году мы дебютировали на фестивале Boulevard Theatre Festival в Den Bosch в Нидерландах

У Пола глубокие джазовые корни, он награжден многими призами, среди прочих награда VPRO/Boy Edgar.

Это наиболее престижная награда на голландской джазовой сцене.

Голландский журнал Jazz Nu о нас и моем дебютном альбоме Live at Paradox:

“Большинство гитаристов, вдохновленных фламенко, в основном акцентируют внимание на ритмических аспектах этой музыки. Расгеадо в сверхбыстром темпе, чем быстрее, тем лучше. Maurice Leenaars более тонкий. Его захватывает мелодия и его волнует формирование тона.(...) Музыка дышит, пока ее напряжение возрастает и уменьшается. Однако наиболее важной заслугой может являться включение Пауля ван Кеменаде в его музыку. Этот сочетание яростного альт-саксофона со страстной гитарой производит душераздирающие волнующие моменты.”

Участие в фестивалях: 2017

ПОДЕЛИТЬСЯ С ДРУЗЬЯМИ: